What's Happening ARCHIVE

PRESS RELEASE: PHLPost unveils 2018 Miss Universe Catriona Gray stamps


The Philippine Postal Corporation (PHLPost) started to issue special stamp featuring the Filipino pride and recently crowned 2018 Miss Universe, Catriona Gray which has been warmly welcomed by our kababayans.

Selling like hotcakes during the first day of issue last February 27, the colorful and well liked photograph of the new Miss Universe in her “winning moments” highlighted the stamps and special souvenir sheets which is being sold at Manila Central Post Office and other regions.

Miss Universe 2018 Ms. Catriona Gray together with PHLPost Chairman of the Board Norman Fulgencio, Assistant Postmaster General Luis Carlos and Maxi Sta. Maria, Business Lines Manager recently unveiled the special stamp which was designed by PHLPost in her honor.

The 24 year-old Filipino-Australian beauty bested contestants from 93 countries to become the fourth Filipina to be crowned Miss Universe held in Bangkok, Thailand last December 17, 2018.

In 2017, PHLPost issued special stamps featuring the past Filipina Miss Universe title holder that includes Miss Universe 1969 Gloria Diaz, Miss Universe 1973 Margie Moran and Miss Universe 2015 Pia Alonzo Wurtzbach.

In the said pageant, Gray showcased her signature walk called ‘Lava walk with a slow-motion twirl’ that stunned not just her Filipino fans and supporters but also in other countries.

In-house Philatelic Counter graphic artist Mr. Rodine Teodoro designed the beautiful stamp with credits on the photo supplied by Ms. Universe organization.

The regular postal stamp will costs P12 while the special stamp will cost P55 with an embellished crown and lava gown.

The stamp design features Catriona Gray in her winning moment with special embellishments on the crown and the beautiful gown designed by Mark Tumang. The prominent and iconic Mayon Volcano is the penultimate inspiration behind Tumang’s creation. It also features Catriona wearing the Mikimoto crown, a pageant crown worn by previous Miss Universe title holders.