Stamp Releases ARCHIVE

Centennial Anniversary of the Provincial Capitol Building, Pangasinan

Centennial Anniversary of the Provincial Capitol Building, Pangasinan

Kind of Issue : Commemorative

Denomination & Quantity : P12 - - - 50,000 (2 designs)

Date of Issue : December 17, 2018

Last Day of Sale : December 16, 2019

Size of Stamps : 40mm x 30mm

Sheet Composition : 40 (4 x 10)

Perforation : 14

Printing Process : Litho Offset (4 colors)

Paper : Imported Unwatermarked

Printer : Amstar Company, Inc.

Stamp Designer : Virgilio C. Paterno

Lay-out Artists : Victorino Z. Serevo/Marco S. Sales

Project Coordinator : Ma. Luisa Amor-Elduayan (PTCAO)

Stamp Design 1 : Digital Artwork of the Capitol Building façade

Stamp Design 2 : Actual photo of the Capitol Building facade

The Pangasinan Provincial Capitol, on Lingayen Gulf, is the present seat of the government of Pangasinan. It was declared as “One of the Eight Architectural Treasures of the Philippines” by the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA).

Construction of the “Kapitolyo” started on September 21, 1917 with the laying of cornerstones during the American period. Its over-all design was influenced by the city master plan of renowned 20th century American Architect and urban planner, Daniel Burnham and implemented by Architect William Parson under the direct supervision of Architect Ralph Harrington Doanne. Twenty ninehectares (29.2231) of land was obtained by the provincial government and the construction was led by the seventh governor of Pangasinan, Daniel Maramba. Construction of the Capitol Building was completed on December, 2018 at a cost of Php 411, 942.

The architectural style (Neoclassical) is marked by the used of columns, entablatures and pediments. To make it an enhanced capitol building, the plan used two stories with a monumental main floor lobby and court room on the second floor.

Today, the Provincial Capitol Building stands an icon of commitment to the preservation of Pangasinan’s built heritage under the administration of Governor Amado I. Espino III.

Stamps and Official First Day Coversof theCentennial Anniversary of the Provincial Capitol Building, Pangasinan will be available starting December 17, 2018 at the Philatelic Counter, Manila Central Post Office, Liwasang Bonifacio 1000, Manila and all the postal areas of the Philippine Postal Corporation.